Seminar in Mathematics

GSSThe Seminar is a seminar organized by Graduate students of the Department of Mathematics at Polytechnic Institute of NYU. The meetings provide an opportunity to learn and to talk about any topic in Mathematics the participants are interested in. They also provide a forum for discussion and interaction among students and promote problem solving and presentation skills.
If you'd like to give a talk or present a problem, please contact Luciano Medina

 

 


 

Program Spring Semester 2013

Tuesday,March 19, 2013
4:35pm-5:20pm in RH 302
On translative containment measure and Bonnesen style isohomothetic inequalities
Jiazu Zhou
Southwest University
 

 


 

Program Fall Semester 2010

12. Thursday, December 16, 2010
Portfolio Optimitzation and Liability Matching
Renjie Xie and Jianfei Dong
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
11. Wednesday, December 15st, 2010
The Group of Squares
Nicholas Castillo
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
10. Wednesday, December 1st, 2010
Introduction to Real Analysis
Luciano Medina
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
9. Wednesday, November 17, 2010
Problem Session
Franziska Berger
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
8. Wednesday, November 10, 2010
Symbol recognition through Wavelet Analysis
David Wen
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
7. Wednesday, November 3, 2010
Problem Session
Franziska Berger
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
6. Wednesday, October 27, 2010
Problem Session
Franziska Berger
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
5. Wednesday, October 20, 2010
Introduction to Differential Geometry
Orval Crawford
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
4. Wednesday, October 13, 2010
Problem Session
Franziska Berger
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
3. Wednesday, October 6, 2010
Problem Session
Franziska Berger
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
2. Wednesday, September 29, 2010
The Transport Equation
Luciano Medina.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
1. Wednesday, September 22, 2010
The hat problem in graphs
Franziska Berger.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 

 


 

Program Spring Semester 2010

11. Wednesday, May 5, 2010
Maximum Principles
Luciano Medina.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
10. Wednesday, April 28, 2010
Fibonacci Numbers
Anar Politinnikov.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
9. Wednesday, April 14, 2010
TBA
Giselle Cunningham.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
8. Wednesday, April 7, 2010
Molecular Dynamics of Molecules Interfaced with Inorganic Glasses as Studied by Dielectric Relaxation Spectroscopy
Ruel McKenzie.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
7. Wednesday, March 31, 2010
Applications of Mathematics in Adaptive Control Theory
Tom Pranayanuntana.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
6. Wednesday, March 24, 2010
Interpolation Spaces
Hassane Kone.
Courant Institute of NYU
 
5. Wednesday, March 10, 2010
Classification of Continuous Translation Invariant Valuations on Lp(Rn)
Andy Tsang.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
4. Wednesday, February 24, 2010
Topics in Modern Banach Space Theory
Hassane Kone.
Courant Institute of NYU
 
3. Wednesday, February 17, 2010
Projective Geometry and self-dual polygons
Valentin Zakharevich.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
2. Wednesday, February 10, 2010
Topics in Modern Banach Space Theory
Hassane Kone.
Courant Institute of NYU
 
1. Wednesday, February 3, 2010
The Isoperimetric Inequality
Alon Kadashev.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 

 


 

Program Fall Semester 2009

10. Monday, December 14, 2009
A Markowitz portfolio optimization problem
Zhi Zhuo.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
9. Monday, December 7, 2009, 12.30-1.30pm
A portfolio optimization problem
Jiawei Wu.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
8. Monday, November 30, 2009
The Penrose Inequality
Luciano Medina.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
7. Monday, November 16, 2009
Lp Spaces
Andy Tsang.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
6. Monday, November 9, 2009
From Information Theory to Convex Geometry
Songjun Lv.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
5. Monday, November 2, 2009
Applications of the Calculus of Variations
Orval Crawford.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
4. Monday, October 19, 2009
Calculus of Variations
Orval Crawford.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
3. Monday, October 12, 2009
Lattice Points and the Gauss Circle Problem
Amakoe Gbedemah.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
2. Monday, September 28, 2009
Reflexivity in Banach Spaces
Hassane Kone.
Courant Institute, NYU
 
1. Monday, September 21, 2009
Programmable RS-232 Controller
Giselle Cunningham.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 

 


 

Program Spring Semester 2009

13. Monday, April 27, 2009
Percolation Theory
Yevgeniy Davydov.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
12. Monday, April 20, 2009
The Ford-Fulkerson Algorithm and a minimum flow application
Irina Igel.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
11. Monday, April 13, 2009
Minimum Cost Flows
Alexey Vagayev.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
10. Monday, April 6, 2009
Chaotic Dynamical Systems
Luciano Medina.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
9. Monday, March 31, 2009
Quantum Information and Errors in Quantum Computers
Srinivasa Chemudupati.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
8. Monday, March 23, 2009
The Wavelet Transform
Andrey Krishkevich.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
7. Monday, March 9, 2009
Quantum Information and Errors in Quantum Computers
Srinivasa Chemudupati.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
6. Monday, March 2, 2009
Fourier transform of tempered distributions
Hassane Kone.
Courant Institute of NYU
 
5. Monday, February 23, 2009
A Simple Problem in Geometric Probability
Andy Tsang.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
4. Tuesday, February 17, 2009
Fundamental Solutions and Their Applications
Liana Lazarashvili.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
3. Monday, February 9, 2009
The prime sequence.
Tuo Wang.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
2. Monday, February 2, 2009
The invariance principle.
Orval Crawford.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
 
1. Monday, January 26, 2009
Identities versus bijections.
Orval Crawford.
Polytechnic Institute of NYU
Department of Mathematics